Sauchie and Bannockburn Curling Club

    Member of Scottish Curling

default_header peakcharter

Alex Reid Memorial Trophy

17th December 1879, Stirling Journal.


Alex Reid Memorial – Larbert Curling Club of which the late Alex Reid was a leading member are to institute a prize in his memory to be played yearly. Personal friends and neighbouring clubs were invited to subscribe and already £60 raised. The clubs are Larbert, Camelon, Airth, Bruce Castle and Dunmore, Stirling Castle, Falkirk, Denny, Bonnybridge and Carron. A meeting was held on Saturday at Mrs Nelson’s Inn, Larbert after the Stirlingshire Province game, Mr James Jones presiding. It was remitted to a committee of one representative from each club to consider a suitable cup or shield and to report to a future meeting. Agreed to play the first match on Thursday, Larbert pond three rinks a side.


Denny was the first winner in season 1879-80.


Sauchie and Bannockburn did not join the list of clubs playing for the trophy till over 100 years after its inauguration.


From the trophy, the club have won trophy 5 times to date, 1998-99, 2000-01, 2003-04, 2008-09, 2011-12.