Sauchie and Bannockburn Curling Club

    Member of Scottish Curling

default_header peakcharter

News 2011-2012

Opening Bonspiel Thursday 15th September 2011


Skip Linsey Alison, Rory MacKenzie, Brian Millar and Graeme Anderson won the opening bonspiel and the Morrison Trophy. The trophy just happened to be on hand so we were able to take the photo of the winners with it there and then. Graeme had just come back from holiday and didn't hang around, heading straight to bed instead. Didn't affect his curling any though. Well done all.


Picture, left to right, Rory, Linsey, Brian.


McWattie competiton 5th October 2011


With the final games completed the winner of the competition had to be decided by counts shots as two teams finished with the same points score. So with 2  more shots than their nearest rival, Angus Collins rink with Rory MacKenzie, Jim Kerr, Joan Anderson and  Laura MacLeod are the winners this year. Well done to the team and well played everyone else to make it a close run competition.

McWattie Trophy

Hendry Trophy competiton 21st October 2011


The Hendry Trophy is a competition for novice skips. The club uses this opportunity to give members who have a little less experience at playing up the order a chance to see what it is like being a skip.


This year the skips were left to right:

Val Saville, Laura MacLeod, Alison Dawson and Jim Neilson.


 The winner on the night was Laura MacLeod who won 9 v 3 against Alison.

Jim beat Val 6 v 3.


It is always a bit daunting for the skips in this match but experience is always available to help guide them.


There are more pictures on Photos page

PA210416 Hendry trophy Mitchell Wilson Trophy

Mitchell-Wilson League 30th November 2011


The Mitchell-Wilson trophy (left) has been won by David Hird and his rink after finishing the final game on peels and so remaining undefeated throughout the four games involved. Good curling indeed.

Points Competition 7th December 2011


The Points competition has a new overall champion in John Brisbane who managed to score 33 points over 7 disciplines over the night. The Ladies champion remains Linsey Alison who again was just pipped for the overall championship by a single point such was the competition.


11 members turned up to compete, an increase of 2 over last year and goes a little way to explain why fewer disciplines were completed. Full results of the Points can be found here.


Bullions Trophy of Christmas Bonspiel 16th December 2011


6 teams competed for the trophy this year and it went right to the last end before the winner could be decided, such was the play.


The president showed the way by skipping the winning team in this year's competition and presented himself and his team with with the seasonal gift of a bottle of spirit each after the meal at the restaurant above the ice rink.


Left to right are John Brisbane, Robert Stewart and Calum MacNee, president, with their prizes. See more pictures above, the group photo at the event and the club photo gallery.


Alex Reid Memorial Trophy winners 24th February 2012


Two Sauchie and Bannockburn rinks won the Alex Reid trophy at the Peak Ice Rink on the above date having been drawn against Larbert and Falkirk.


The matches are played over two seperate times in the evening, with the competition AGM in the middle. As a result we will be organising competition next year.

Alex Reid Memorial Trophy


corrieri trophy

Corrieri Cup won on 1st of March


Corrieri Cup has been won by skip Linsey Alison and her rink of Calum Macnee, Robin Johnston, Derrick Douglas, Bob Turner and Liz Dixon. They won a total of 5 out of their 6 games to score 10 points.


This was a change of format for us with each rink playing each other twice. Made for an interesting competition.

Muirhead Trophy



Team 5 won the final of the Muirhead Trophy knock out competition and once again the skip is none other than Linsey Alison who is having a great season.


HOPE PAIRS FINALISTS on Wednesday 21st March

Left to right, Anne Kane and Rory MacKenzie versus Linsey Alison and Bob Turner.

Earlier in the evening Rory and Anne had beaten Graeme Anderson and Robert Stewart while Linsey and Bob had beaten Joe Kincaid and Joan Anderson.


In a high scoring match, the Linsey bandwagon continued to roll and she won out with able support from Bob who also had a great game. Rory and Anne made it a very good game and the pairs format has given both Bob and Anne some good experience for the future.


There are some pictures from the semi-final games and the final itself in the picture gallery as well as a few choice ones above. Camera man credits go to Graeme Anderson and Joe Kincaid.

Closing Bonspiel on 26th of March


This was a six rink affair to involve as many people as possible in ( what is supposed to be ) the final match of the season and we almost made it, substitutes much in use and a few absentees noted.


It was a keen competition for the cup and it there was a single end in it. So all that roaring for sweeping at the last end by Rory definitely paid off as his rink needed it to beat off everyone else. So well done to Rory MacKenzie, skip, Val Saville and Shirley MacKenzie.

Millar trophy PolmaiseTrophy



The annual match against Borestone and Stiring Curling Club finally took place on Friday after suffering a postponement due to a mix up in match times at the ice rink. It was worth the wait though as we retained the trophy for the second year after winning 16 shots to 12 on the night, up +4 shots. It was played two rinks a side.


So the season ends on a high note with another trophy success.


Well done to Dougie Mckenzie, Rory MacKenzie, Graeme Anderson and Alison Dawson for winning their game with enough to spare.

AGM on 16th May at the Cricket Clubhouse


The Annual General Meeting of the Sauchie and Bannockburn Curling Club took place at 7:30pm at the Cricket Clubhouse behind the Forthbank Football Stadium. After the agenda was completed, there was a break for refreshment and nibbles and the presentation of trophies and inscribed glasses to all the club competition winners.