Sauchie and Bannockburn Curling Club

    Member of Scottish Curling

default_header peakcharter


Sauchie and Bannockburn curlers are well known faces in many of the local ice rink competitions and have had successes consistently over the years. Similarly in the many invitation events held in ice rinks throughout Scotland the names of Iain Morrison, Mary Scobie, Janice Ogilvie, Jimmy Muirhead, Angus Collins, David and Irene Hird, Duncan and Edith MacRae, Robin and Marion Johnston, Calum MacNee and Linsey Alison.


Sauchie and Bannockburn has been a strong supporter of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club. They have provided players for the RCCC Tours with Jimmy Muirhead (USA 1975), Iain Morrison (USA 1977) and David Hird (USA 1997) on the Men’s side; similarly Mary Scobie (USA 1991) and Irene Hird (Canada 1995) being selected for the RCCC Women’s Tours.


The RCCC Council has been fortunate to have as members Duncan MacRae and Irene Hird. Irene was the RCCC Ladies Branch President in 2000 and is currently a Director of the RCCC Board.


Club members have featured prominently in every aspect of curling whether playing or contributing to the running of the sport. The club has been fortunate to have many good curlers with a high standard of club curling being the foundation for some notable successes on the ice.


Christmas Bonspiel 14th December 2006


Club members from left to right:-


Graeme Anderson, Robin Johnston, Jimmy Muirhead, Derrick Douglas, Angus Collins, Donnie Macleod, Rosemary McLennan, Calum MacNee, Peter McIntyre, Linsey Alison, Archie Barclay, Alison Dawson, Val Saville, David Elder, Elspeth Watt, Murray Collins, Joe Kincaid, Alan Watt, Marion Johnston

Summary      Previous      End

Summary      Previous      End