Sauchie and Bannockburn Curling Club

    Member of Scottish Curling

default_header peakcharter

Polmaise Trophy

  • Presented by Colonel Murray of Polmaise in 1896, it was to be played for between Stirling, Stirling Castle, Borestone and Sauchie and Bannockburn Curling Clubs in annual competition, the final being played at Bearside, where Colomel Murray had permitted curling to take place.

  • Over the years, the clubs have changed, first Stirling Castle ceased as a curling club, the Borestone and Stirling amalgamated to leave a single game between the two clubs annually.

  • No longer dependent on Bearside, it is an ice rink competition now.


Taken from the trophy, here are the list of winners, starting with the outdoor ice. Stirling Castle never did win it.



Stirling 3rd February 1897

Stirling 4th February 1899

Stirling 8th February 1900

Sauchie & Bannockburn 13th February 1901

Stirling 13th February 1902

Borestone 29th November 1904

Stirling 7th December 1909

Stirling 3rd February 1912

Stirling 26th December 1925

Borestone 1928, 1929, 1930, 1932, 1936

Sauchie & Bannockburn 19th January 1940

Borestone 6th January 1941

Sauchie & Bannockburn 27th January 1945

Borestone 21st January 1946

Sauchie & Bannockburn 24th January 1947


When the match was played indoors, Sauchie and Bannockburn won the trophy from 1950 to 1960 consecutively, Borestone and Stirling won it in 1961 then Sauchie and Bannockburn won it back 1962 and retained it till Borestone and Stirling won it once more in 1976.

The club have consistently won the competition more frequently than Borestone and Stiring since then.